Cloud Computing​

The what, the how, and the future of cloud​

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

In 2019, 90% of the companies are already in the cloud according to a research published by 451 research institution and Cisco even predict that by 2021, 94% of all computing will be done in the cloud data center.  The adaption of the cloud has been growing rapidly and more computing needs driven by big data and IoT are accelerating the market at a pace that has never been seen before.  AWS, which dominate the market with a 32% market shares, had grown from 3 billion to 257 billion for the past five years.  

While the maturity of technologies like ML and IoT contribute a lot of this growth, the main driving factors behind this wave of adaption actually stem from the core advantages of Cloud compare to On-Premise server which is the traditional database that is managed by users themselves.  Advantages like scalability, ease-of-use, and cost are all critical as our need for data is growing rapidly.

What is Cloud Computing?

Cloud actually just mean the internet.  And cloud computing?  Computation that takes place on the internet.  Well, it’s actually a server managed by the cloud providers.. but you get the idea.  Companies today can leverage cloud services to send, store, process and receive different kinds of information which include data, server, analytics, and more.  Almost everything can be done in the cloud as long as you have the internet access.

The core advantages of cloud computing

With cloud companies don’t need to spend a large amount of capital on purchasing all the hardware required to build a on-premise database and there is also no need to deploy resources for maintaining or upgrading it.  Almost everything can be managed by service providers.  This is also the reason cloud has become a default option for most startups when it comes to storage and computing.  

Cost

Before cloud technology emerges, it used to be that organizations have to spend a huge amount of capital in purchasing hardware and software necessary for the server and allocating resources for maintaining equipment and investing in talents. 

Now with the cloud, there is essentially no initial investment and maintenance fees for the organization and company can quickly scale up or down on the pay-as-you-use basis. 

Scalability

For on-premise server organization have to always plan ahead and purchase more space than necessary to ensure there is enough space in the server so that it won’t overload.   Now because of the nature of the cloud, companies can just click-to-purchase if they need more space in the near future without purchasing any hardware and can scale down anytime.

Speed & Functionality

Most cloud vendors in the industry like AWS, Azure, and GCP are international technology companies that have a proven track record of handling large server that operate petabytes and petabytes of data.  And because of this intense competition they have to constantly update their hardware and software to remain competitive and cost-productive.   These factors make them undeniably faster and far more reliable than on-premise which seldom get updated and have limited expertise (for most organizations).

Safety

Cloud vendors like AWS and Azure have clients in financial institution, government and other companies that requires confidentiality at the highest level.  This requires to have really high-level operation in terms of cybersecurity and other security threats. 

Usability

Usability is probably the single most important factor that attracts most companies especially startup deploy cloud.  Following the emergence and growth of IoT, AI, and the increase of data size most organizations require more and more analytics to make it data driven.   That means when allocating talents it is best to put them in a position of power to grow the analytics capability of the organization.  Using cloud instead of On-premise data server not only gives organization four advantages listed above, it also free the hands of developers and data engineer to focus on things that will drive business impact. 

Different service of the cloud

There are mainly 3 types of cloud services: IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service), PaaS (Platform as a Service), SaaS (Software as a Service).  Because these three are built upon one another, we often call it Stack as well.  SaaS is the most common cloud services we’ve seen.  It provides the total solution from networking to application.  While IaaS only provides users networking, storage, server and virtualization, it’s actually the fastest growing segment among the three. 

Hotspots Background

IaaS - Infrastructure as a Service

Cloud infrastructure services, are made of highly scalable and automated compute resources.  it is a fully self-service for everything on a function level like OS, Middleware, runtime, data and application.  Like other cloud services IaaS works as a pay-as-you-use model and is a good choice for companies that has in-house talents to handle all the technical details.  As you don’t need to purchase any hardware and the infrastructure can scale easily, it is a very easy choice for organization that values agility.

Even though in this 200 billion dollar market, IaaS only has a market share of 20% (According to Gartner), it is the fastest growing segments.  Companies that has been undergoing digital transformation with mix or multi cloud infrastructure are the main driver behind this growth.  They can leverage the stability and scalability cloud providers have and still maintain a great degree of freedom on OS, middleware, and runtime. 

 

PaaS - Platform as a Service

PaaS delivers a framework for developers to build upon and use it to create customized application or solution.  The platform is delivered via the web, giving developers the freedom to concentrate on developing their own software without the need to worry anything like software update, OS, storage, or hardware-level issues.  

SaaS - Software as a Service

Also known as cloud application services, it is currently the most adapted option for businesses in the world.  Most SaaS application is run on the browser which means no download is required.  Because the speed of the internet has been increasing tremendously, a lot of business have changed their models to lean more toward having it run on the cloud.  Today, even application like high-resolution online game can be run on the browser without any lagging.  

Learn more about the cloud

雲端運算​

了解雲端科技的定義、應用、以及執行架構​

分享在 linkedin
分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 email

451研究機構發現90%的公司在2019年時已經在雲端上了,而Cisco更是預測在2021時,所有的運算將會有94%在雲端資料中心完成。其實,直接從雲端運算市場中佔比超過32%的AWS歷史成長,我們也不難看出雲端的潛能,從2013~2018這短短的五年間,AWS就從30億美金的收益成長至257億美金。  

如此的成長有很大的一部分是建立於物聯網與人工智慧等科技的成熟,同時還有數據與運算速度大幅提升的原因,然而,最核心的驅動因素則是雲端運算本身的易用性、以及擴展的簡單性(Scalability)。

什麼是雲端運算

雲端運算 – 定義、應用、以及執行架構
分享在 facebook
分享在 linkedin
分享在 twitter
分享在 email

雲端運算為透過雲端業者所提供的伺服器來做運算的過程。業者現在能夠利用雲端服務來傳遞各式各樣不同的資訊,其中包括數據、伺服器、分析、以及各式各樣的功能,所有的東西都能夠在雲端上運作、儲存、以及存取。

雲端運算的核心優勢

雲端使公司端不再需要投資龐大資金在硬體設備上,也讓業者不需花大量的時間、精力、與人才於維護這些設施,但卻能更有效率與效能的完成同樣的任務。如此的低成本、高敏捷、與高彈性的因素,驅動了整個雲端市場的成長,而也是如此特性,雲端已成為許多新創直接默認的選項,其中不乏也有國際級的大型企業不斷的採納雲端科技,其實,現在已經有90%的公司在雲端上運作了。

成本

Lower Initial, maintenance, and transition cost

以往的建置需要耗費大筆金額購買新的設備,業者還必須購買各式各樣的軟體授權以及服務,爾後還需要再花錢在投資設備維護以及人才資本上。 而雲端運算不僅沒有任何的初始投資與維護成本,雲端運算又具備快速部署的能力。業者僅需要根據他們的運算量與儲存量付費。(然而,對於儲存需求較大的組織,On-Premise的伺服器有時更符合成本效益

擴展性

Scalability with better flexibility & elasticity

以前,業者必須要架設超過需求的基礎建設以確保擁有足夠的容量、預防伺服器超載,而如果使用雲端運算,因為其用多少付多少的特性,業者可以根據自己的需求隨時擴展或縮減。 所以,若需要更大的儲存空間時,也不需另外添購任何硬體,只要幾個點擊即可。

速度&效能

Speed & Effectiveness

市面上常見的雲端運算服務不僅都是國際級的科技公司所提供,客戶更是各個行業的新創至龍頭企業,服務端為了提高自己的競爭力在效能上會不斷的優化並定期更新至最新一代的運算硬體。相較於On-Premise的伺服器來說速度通常來的更快且能達成更佳的規模經濟。

安全性

Reliable & Secure

多數雲端提供商必須保護來自各個國家的各大企業最機密的資訊,在資安層面上大多都是世界頂級的,通過極為嚴厲的原則、技術、以及控制項來強化整體安全性,同時也保護資料不受潛在威脅的侵害。業者同時也不需擔心資料的遺失,雲端商會在多個備援站台進行鏡像處理與資料備份。

易用性

Ease to use

使用雲端運算最大的誘因來自於它的易用性,隨著物聯網、人工智慧、以及數據的蓬勃發展,所有的組織對於分析的需求都越來越大,而使用雲端運算不僅有著前面所述的四大優勢,同時,它也讓團隊能夠將放更多的IT資源在產品研發與設計上,讓整個組織更靈敏。

雲端服務不同的類型

雲端主要能夠分成三大類別:基礎設施即服務(IaaS)、平台即服務(PaaS)、軟體即服務(SaaS),而因為這三種不同的類別都是重重建置的,所以我們也常稱呼其為「Stack」。SaaS屬於最常見的雲端運算,提供用戶全面的服務,而IaaS則提供業者完善的網路及儲存空間,最後PaaS則是在其中間,幫業者處理了操作系統、中介系統、以及runtime,讓開發商不必處理非常後端的事情。

雲端運算的類型
Hotspots Background

SaaS 軟體即服務​

SaaS是能夠為使用者提供供應商的雲端軟體存取,使用者不必在自己的裝置上安裝任何應用程式,而是使用WEb或是API存取位在遠端的雲端網路上,團隊能夠透過應用程式儲存、分析資料、或是協同進行專案。使用者不必擔心任何硬體與軟體的問題,提供商會負責軟硬體的升級以及安全性修補的維護。

PaaS 平台即服務​

PaaS提供雲端環境,其中包括IaaS所提供的服務再加上操作系統、中介軟體、以及Runtime,團隊能夠直接在雲端的環境上開發、管理、存取、以及傳遞應用程式。 使用PaaS,團隊能夠更簡易的建立應用程式,不需煩惱任何開發所需的伺服器、儲存體、網路等等…

IaaS 基礎設施即服務

IaaS提供業者運算資源,其中包括網路、儲存體、伺服器、以及虛擬機化( Virtualization),同樣的,IaaS如其他雲端服務一般也是每使用付費的。 對於技術底子較厚且資源豐富的業者來說,是非常不錯的選擇。 使用IaaS的話使用者不需採購任何硬體、基礎架設也能根據需求任意調整、且非常彈性。

IaaS 基礎設施即服務

IaaS提供業者運算資源,其中包括網路、儲存體、伺服器、以及虛擬機化( Virtualization),同樣的,IaaS如其他雲端服務一般也是每使用付費的。 對於技術底子較厚且資源豐富的業者來說,是非常不錯的選擇。 使用IaaS的話使用者不需採購任何硬體、基礎架設也能根據需求任意調整、且非常彈性。

IaaS目前在整個2000億美金的雲端服務市場中僅占比不到20%(2019年數據, Gartner),是所有的服務當中佔比偏低的,但卻也是成長最快的,然而,驅動這個區塊成長的是各大業者在數位轉型的過程中,採納著混合雲、或是多雲架構等模式,利用了雲端服務提供商的穩定且具可擴性的基礎建設,但仍在如操作系統、中介軟體、以及runtime中保有自由度。且對於大型組織來說,僅利用提供商的基礎建設更能讓系統穩定性鋼高且資料會更為安全。

PaaS 平台即服務

PaaS可以爲使用者提供雲端環境,其中包括IaaS所提供的服務再加上操作系統、中介軟體、以及Runtime,團隊能夠直接在雲端的環境上開發、管理、存取、以及傳遞應用程式。 使用PaaS,團隊能夠更簡易的建立應用程式,不需煩惱任何開發所需的伺服器、儲存體、網路等等… 而因為其快速部署的特性,團隊能夠讓應用程式更快速的上市,大幅的提高TTM,同時也因為PaaS的服務包含了中介軟體,開發的複雜度也降低了很多。

SaaS 軟體即服務

SaaS是能夠為使用者提供供應商的雲端軟體存取,使用者不必在自己的裝置上安裝任何應用程式,而是使用WEb或是API存取位在遠端的雲端網路上,團隊能夠透過應用程式儲存、分析資料、或是協同進行專案。使用者不必擔心任何硬體與軟體的問題,提供商會負責軟硬體的升級以及安全性修補的維護。

閱讀更多雲端科技相關洞見​

Close Menu