How will digital transformation impact industries and businesses

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Digital Transformation is not a milestone of innovation anymore.  Nowadays, it is just a process every business has to go through.

At least 40% of all businesses will die in the next 10 years… if they don't figure out how to change their entire company​

John Chambers, Executive Chairman, Cisco System​

No matter what the industry, size, age, or culture is we are already seeing most of the organization is planning or executing digital transformation.  In fact, according to Gartner survey on 15 different industries, 47% of CEOs are being challenged by board of directors to make progress in digital business. and 56% of CEOS claim they are already seeing positive return on their digital investment.  For businesses, the problem is not about “whether or not to execute digital transformation” it is “How to stay on top or become the top in the investment on digital transformaiton”

The impact of digital transformation

As most organizations are seeing the needs to digital transformation, the impact on the industry itself is also significant.  If organization can’t clearly define exactly how that impact will occur, they will have to face significant loss from it.  In this kind of situations, what we commonly see are:

  • Still providing products or services that are significantly less competitive to the market
  • Unable to satisfy the current expectation customers have for their experience
  • Have a slow reaction to market trend compare with the competitors
  • Customer’s feedback aren’t received or have no effect in the whole business process

Below, we define three effects of digital transformation that will produce the outcome above:

Disruption in the Value Chain​

The impact of Digital Transformation significantly disrupt the traditional value chain model.  The relationship of Manufacturers – Distributors – Customers are broken because of it.  The increase of internet speed, digital-enabled mediums or channels, sharp increase in people going online are all driving factors behind it.  It bring customers closer to the manufacturers and increase the engagement for both side.  The traditional value chain where brand has to find distributors to work as a regional sales is being reshaped.

The rise of eCommerce, tech startup in the hospitality industry, SaaS are all great example of disruption in the value chain that is currently taking place.  These businesses not only show really strong presence to customers they also make themselves extremely relevant.

The Impact​

Fast, stems from these businesses have really fast reaction time to customer feedback, market trend, PR crisis.

Those that could not keep up will find themselves offering services or product that are far less competitive or offering those services product at an unattractive price range or quality.  They may be in a situation where their customers don’t think their feedbacks are valued by the brand and continue to try out other products.  There is even a case that PR crisis could not be properly handled due to the complexity of decision process in the organization.

Precise, stems from those businesses are able to analyze huge amount of data and effectively determine the segment that is going to return the highest on the capital spent and develop offer / experience that are most relevant to them.

Those that are not able to reach the same level of precision may find themselves hustling in the market, adjusting pricing, offer or marketing strategy yet unable to extract actionable insight from it.  Spending huge amount of capital without any return.

Hard, stems from the fact that once these businesses define & target their customers, they are able to customized their offer & experience that are most relevant to them.

Those that couldn’t reach as deep won’t be able to from deep & meaningful relationship with their customers.  Let along building the bond & trust with them.  As those transformed competitors are bringing in value that is just fundamentally better than the incumbents, customers are becoming more and more selective and the expectation is getting higher than ever.  Unless the uniqueness of the product is not replaceable, customers will slowly deviate from the brand and eventually abandon it.

The Work​

Business has to take a hard look on all aspects of their value chain and also see from their customers, indirect & direct competitors perspective to determine how they can transform their business model to maintain their advantage in the market.

Overall Increase in Service Value​

The whole world is going through digital transformation.  This also indirectly lead to people become more informed, globalization become more rapid, and market becomes even more transparent.  These factors combined leads to the standardization of products and services.  Standardization of products and services eventually lead to companies are fighting over pricing.  In this muddy arena, brands that really get ahead in the market are those that can fundamentally increase their service value.

Why should I use Ctrip.com instead of Fliggy? Why should I use Hubspot instead of ActiveCampaign? or Why use I go to 7-11 instead of Family Mart?

Service value is not just about the quality of service. The quality of service does matter to a certain extent but the service value is much more. It includes: integration of other services, 3rd party integration, User experience, intuitive design, fluency, customization and brand value.

The Impact​

Nowadays, it’s almost impossible for companies to stay on top of the game simply relying on their advances in technology.  If they can’t figure out a way to increase their service value, competitors are going to take the advantage of it by providing a more integrated, more compact and more relevant service to customers. 

The Work​

Under the circumstances, the best method for company to win the match is to increase not just the broadness of the services offered but also the deepness.  Every now and then they have to think how they can provide a more relevant experience to their customers.  We would even suggest they should use a magnifying glass to take a deep look and monitor KPI like Customer Lifetime Value and Customer Satisfaction to have a clear strategy in optimizing their service value.

Restructure of Business Model​

If a product is the best in the market and has a clear USP (Unique Selling Proposition), companies will surely be able to stay in the top of their game.  But most businesses aren’t so.  The era of Apple is over.  The market now rewards those that can “listen to the customers, turn those feedbacks into input of the next product, clearly define how it is going to be executed, and the product itself still has strong brand personality in it”.

Amazon is the best example in this case.  The founder Jeff Bezos even claim he read every complaint from customers.

The Impact

Those that are not able to generate “Actionable Insight” from customer’s feedback and input those insight into designing next product or strategy will find themselves deviating from their customers further and further.  After all, if competitors are actually listening to the customers and turn those insight into action, they will surely provide better and better service over time and the bond between customers and brand will get strong and stronger as well.  As the relationship builds up, incumbents won’t be able to have a place in the market.

The Work​

To deal with this, organization has to make the process from getting customer’s feedbacks, qualitative feedbacks received by management, and generating actionable insight from it as quick and as smooth as possible.  Below, we have a deeper look into common problems experienced by organization when executing this.

Customer’s feedbacks aren’t heard – This might be the fact that organization do not have an easy channel for customer feedback.  Companies have to adapt a habit of constantly communicating with their customers(can be automated) to a point where customers feel like they are also part of the brand.

Management aren’t receiving feedbacks – As the organization becomes larger and larger but infrastructure is not digitized the communication becomes harder and harder.  Feedbacks collected by regional sales might get stuck at some point in the process.  Or, employees don’t feel psychologically safe when sharing their thoughts(in this case, feedbacks from customers) that are against the direction of current strategy or are inconsistent with the management. 
To solve this, they have to start digitizing their communication methods or start to think how they can create an environment where employees love to share and genuinely want to make the organization better. 

Unable to develop Actionable Insight – As the organization grow, brand become more mature and the business process become more fixed, turning feedback into Actionable Insight will probably be the hardest among it all. Product team has to develop the habit of constantly optimize the product or service from those feedbacks.

數位轉型將會如何影響我的產業

Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

數位轉型很快就不是創新的指摽或里程碑,而是所有的企業都必須要經過的一段過程。

在近十年,我們會看到至少40%的企業面臨倒閉 ….. 如果他們沒有成功的讓新科技融合進原本的營運流程中。​

John Chambers, Executive Chairman, Cisco System

而根據不同的產業、公司規模、年紀以及文化等,我們已然看到大部分的企業已經開始規劃或執行數位轉型,其實,根據Gartner在15個產業的調查,有47%的CEOs已被董事會要求看到數位轉型的進程,而56%的CEOs宣稱他們在數位轉型的投資已經可以看到利潤。  對於企業來說,現在問題已經不是「是否要去執行數位轉型」了,而是「要如何在轉型過程中保持或一舉成為市場領袖的地位」。

數位轉型帶來的影響​​​

當然,隨著大部分的組織明確地意識到轉型的需求,這對產業的影響也將是非常可觀的,若組織無法明確的定義出轉型企業將帶來的影響,這將會帶來很可觀的損失。在這樣的組織中我們常見的情況包括

  • 尚在提供競爭性遠低於市場的服務或產品的品質或價格
  • 無法滿足現下的顧客對於體驗的期望
  • 對於趨勢的反應速度遠遠落後於競爭者
  • 消費者回饋沒有被聽見,從而破壞消費者與品牌的信任

而以下我們定義出三種數位轉型所導致上面情況的主要成因

價值鏈模型的破壞​​

數位轉型嚴重的破壞了傳統價值鏈模型,以往的製造商 – 經銷商 – 消費者的關係,網路速度的提升、新科技創造的媒介、上線人口的暴增、各種媒體以及渠道的出現,不僅大大的拉進了顧客與製造商的關係,也提高了雙方的互動率,直接得導致中間商的重要程度降低。電商的崛起、觀光產業的科技玩家、SaaS等,都是傳統價值鏈模型破壞的最好寫照,這些業者不僅做到與顧客保持極為密切的互動關係,他們組織的單純性也導致整體策略的執行上比傳統業者來得更為靈敏,對於市場情況、公關以及消費者趨勢的變化也能非常快速的反應。

The Impact​

對於尚未轉型其經營模式的業者來說,他們將被迫去與這些快、準、狠的轉型企業競爭:

,來自於這些業者對於效費者回饋、市場趨勢、公關等極為重視且反應非常快速。
速度遠跟不上的傳統業者將發現自己尚在提供競爭性遠低於市場的服務或產品的品質與價格,或是消費者認為自己的意見不被重視導致品牌拋棄,甚至是業者因為組織內部架構的複雜性導致無法即時的應付公關危機等狀況。

,來自這些業者能夠分析龐大數據並清楚的定義出投資報酬率最高的客群,並創造且提供最相關的服務給他們。
準確度遠跟不上的傳統業者將會發現自己不斷的在市場中東奔西走,不斷的調整價格、offer以及行銷方向卻最終無法提供所謂”Actionable Insight”,耗費龐大資金以及機會成本卻沒有創造營收。

,來自這些業者一但鎖定了客戶群,他們能夠讓自己與顧客建立極為密切的關係以及無法被忽視的存在感。
狠度遠跟不上的傳統業者將會發現自己無法與消費者建立有意義的關係,更不用說與消費者建立龐大的牽絆以及信任,而正因為這些轉型業者不斷的寵溺著消費者,倘若消費者無法從品牌身上感受到自己的需求被滿足,或是被在意,若非產品的極具無法被取代的獨特性,消費者將會漸漸地疏遠品牌。

The Work​

企業必須360度的審視自己的價值鏈,從顧客的角度、間接與直接競爭者的角度以及自己的角度去判斷如何轉型原有的模型以保持自己的盈利優勢。

服務價值的提升​​​

全世界都在經歷數位轉型的過程,而這也導致了知識的普及、全球化以及市場資訊漸漸的透明化,這些情形的影響力加總將導致產品與服務的標準化,以及市場普遍的低價戰略,這時候能夠脫穎而出的組織即是能夠讓其服務價值提升的品牌。

為什麼比起攜程我要使用飛豬?為什麼比起Hubspot我要使用Salesforce?又或著是比起7-11我要選擇全家?

服務價值的提升並非單純只有服務品質而已,當然服務品質本身是非常重要的環節,但是還有更多的環節如同:其他服務的結合、第三方產品或服務的整合、使用經驗或購物體驗的直覺性與流暢度、客戶體驗的客製化程度、以及品牌價值等等。

The Impact​

企業已經無法(極難)仰賴著技術優勢去成為市場領袖。倘若業者沒有提升自己的服務價值,競爭者將能夠靠提供更全面、更完善、或是更貼切的服務來讓消費者嘗試其服務或產品,而時常,無法經由洞悉市場與消費者趨勢來提升服務價值的傳統業者,最後往往變成所謂的跟屁蟲,緊緊地跟著競爭對手的屁股,模仿他們的一舉一動。

而在這樣的情況之下,企業最佳的辦法即是通過提升服務的寬度以及深度,無時無刻的思考如何更貼切的幫助到顧客並滿足他的需求?  業者必須要拿著放大鏡看的是顧客滿意度、以及顧客生命週期等KPI去了解顧客是否對於產品額外的服務是滿意的,甚至定義出需要被優化的環節與尚未滿足的需求。

商業模型的重組​

當然,產品最好最頂尖又有能夠清楚定義USP(Unique Selling Proposition)的企業將能保持市場領袖的地位,但對於大部分的企業,我們相信情況應該都不是如此。蘋果的時代已然結束,現下的市場領袖將是具備以下特質的企業「認真的聽取顧客的聲音、從回饋中策劃產品走向、建立清楚的執行策略、同時保有品牌的「視」別度而非變成消費者的跟屁蟲」。Amazon即是此種特質的最佳寫照,創辦人Jeff Bezos甚至宣稱,他閱讀每一封顧客的投訴,並基於此種負面回饋去發掘市場上需求尚未被滿足的消費者,並快速的建立產品、服務或是策略以填滿其空洞。

The Impact​

無法快速的取得消費者回饋並從中取得”Actionable Insight”以置入至下一次的產品、服務的設計或是策略的方向的業者將會發現消費者與其品牌漸行漸遠。畢竟當競爭者有落實的聽取消費者的聲音並快速的針對這些”Input”去研發產品與提供服務,消費者將會與這些品牌建立更強的關係並更加信任這品牌,從而導致傳統業者所提供的產品或服務喪失競爭性。

The Work​

要了解如何應付此種影響,組織必須要讓所謂「取得消費者回饋、回饋傳達至管理階層、從中取得”Actionabal Insight”」的流程變得無障礙並順暢,以下我們針對這三種階段可能面臨的困難做更深一層的探討:

消費者回饋沒有被聽見 – 即代表組織並沒有提供消費者回饋的渠道或是沒有刺激消費者去給予回饋。企業必須養成保持與消費者溝通的習慣(可被部分自動化),並讓消費者清楚他們品牌的一員,他們的Input會被聽見,並且會被執行。

回饋無法傳達到管理階層 – 隨著組織的規模越來越大、基礎建設尚未數位化、又或是說組織內部沒有鼓勵員工發表意見或是指出問題等,將導致消費者的回饋將無法被成功的被傳達到管理階層。組織必須開始數位轉型其內部的溝通模式,並思考如何在團隊中培養員工樂於給予回饋的文化。就如同消費者回饋一樣,還要讓員工清楚的知道,這些他們通過整合顧客回饋所發現的問題,將會被正視,並探討與建立解決的方案。

無法從回饋中建立”Actionable Insight” – 隨著組織規模的成長以及品牌的成熟,從回饋轉化到產品或服務設計的過程將是最為困難且繁雜的。團隊必須養成定期討論如何優化產品或服務本身的習慣,並且真的落實的執行,即便其修正也許只是”Micro Improvement”,但在養成不斷的意識到產品與服務永遠可以變得更好並持續優化的習慣,將會讓團隊中對於這些修正的靈敏度與接受度大幅提升。

Masa Chen
Masa為台灣市場策略領導,主要業務範疇為客戶的數位策略部署。OOSGA Partner at the Taipei Office, Project Leader @ TIDE & GENE
台北市信義區基隆路一段206號16樓​
業務聯繫人: Chelsie Yang | Email: chelsie.y@oosga.com
Call: 6601-1315

Empowering Change, Delivering Impact.

Connect With Masa Chen

Hm.. It doesn’t seem like you are logged in yet. Please use the form below to sign in to your account.

If you don’t have a subscriber account, consider register one here.

For partners, please leverage your designated OOSGA.org account associated with your organization.

訂閱我們每週分享的產業洞見、定期發布的研究報告、以及不同市場的問卷調查結果

We send weekly Insights & Reports to our subscribers. If you don’t have a subscriber account, consider creating one here.