Briefings

馬來西亞進出口(2023年):貿易政策與規範發展現況為何?

最後更新於: October 21, 2023
Update

馬來西亞當前的貿易政策走向為何?

2022年,馬來西亞的商品出口大幅成長,總值達到3525億美元,較2020年的2348億美元和2021年的299.4美元大幅躍升。同樣,商品進口也成長至2944億美元2022年實現貿易順差581億美元。然而,服務業餘額出現明顯赤字,2022 年為 104 億美元,較上年的 146 億美元有所下降。

統計局強調了2022年馬來西亞出口成長的推動因素。電子和電氣(E&E)產品仍然位居榜首,其次是包括棕櫚油在內的農產品,以及石油、化學品和化學產品,以及橡皮。從主要出口市場來看,中國領先,其次是新加坡、美國、歐盟、香港、日本和泰國。進口市場也以電子電氣產品為主,其次是化學品、石油產品、機械、設備、零部件、金屬製品和農產品。這些進口的主要來源是中國,其次是新加坡、歐盟、台灣、美國和日本。

在國際上,馬來西亞積極參與多個全球和區域經濟框架。該國是世貿組織成員,並參加東盟和21個成員國的亞太經合組織論壇等區域經濟倡議。在雙邊方面,馬來西亞與澳大利亞、智利、印度、日本、新西蘭、巴基斯坦和土耳其等多個國家簽訂了有效的自由貿易協定(FTA)。

馬來西亞還參與了多項多邊貿易安排。1992年簽署的東盟自由貿易協定以及馬來西亞在東盟與澳大利亞、新西蘭、中國、香港、印度、日本和韓國等其他國家的自由貿易協定中發揮的積極作用就是證明。2022 年 1 月,該國還成為東盟與其自由貿易協定夥伴於 2020 年簽署的區域全面經濟夥伴關係協定 (RCEP) 的締約方。在此之前,該國還參與了其他重要的貿易安排,例如《全面且進步的跨太平洋夥伴關係協定》。 -太平洋夥伴關係,於 2022 年 9 月獲得批准。

在石油領域,馬來西亞與歐佩克成員國合作,幫助管理國際石油市場。自 2021 年初以來,這種協調一直至關重要,隨著全球需求從 COVID-19 大流行的影響中恢復,OPEC 及其盟友(稱為 OPEC+)逐漸放鬆了 2020 年商定的減產協議。由於全球油價飆升,該集團面臨著越來越大的增產壓力,2022 年 2 月開始的俄羅斯-烏克蘭戰爭加劇了這種情況。截至 2022 年 6 月底,OPEC+ 同意取消 970 萬桶/日的產量2020 年初同意減產。預計 OPEC+ 將在 2022 年繼續增產,但產量增幅有限。

貿易方面也存在挑戰,尤其是與歐盟的貿易挑戰。馬來西亞與歐盟之間的自由貿易協定談判於2010年開始,但應馬來西亞的要求於2012年暫停。由於對全球最大棕櫚油生產國馬來西亞和印度尼西亞森林砍伐​​的擔憂,歐洲議會投票贊成到 2030 年禁止在生物燃料生產中使用棕櫚油,這種情況進一步惡化。世貿組織爭端解決機制於2021年5月同意聽取馬來西亞對歐盟的申訴。考慮到此類貿易爭端可能會持續數年,這一問題很可能會進一步推遲馬來西亞與歐盟恢復自由貿易協定談判。

為了應對這些貿易動態,馬來西亞政府於 2021 年 10 月公佈了一項國家貿易藍圖,旨在提高該國 2021 年至 2025 年的商品出口。該計劃的一個關鍵目標是恢復馬來西亞在世界前 20 名出口國的地位,並在更多國家中參與競爭。與泰國和越南等地區競爭對手關係密切。藍圖中概述的戰略並不是根本性的變革,但它們強調了關鍵目標。這些措施包括增加中小型企業和跨國公司的出口,增加出口商獲得貿易融資的機會,倡導數位化和電子商務,以及推廣“馬來西亞品牌”以擴大旅遊業和食品之外的知名度。

進口稅和關稅

馬來西亞採用統一商品描述和編碼系統進行商品分類。然而,馬來西亞與東盟自由貿易區其他九個成員國之間的貿易交易受東盟統一關稅術語管轄。幾乎所有稅率(統一制度下的 99%)都是從價稅,基於徵稅項目的貨幣價值。其餘的職責是特定的、混合的或替代的。世貿組織表示,2020年適用於其他世貿組織成員的平均最惠國稅率為5.7%。對於農產品,2020年適用的最惠國稅率中有74.7%是免稅的,這一數字為65.2%對於非農產品。

最高的平均最惠國關稅適用於飲料和煙草(93.3%)、運輸設備(12%)和皮鞋(10.3%)。世貿組織對馬來西亞的貿易政策審查最近一次更新於 2023 年 3 月,該審查表明,主要適用於農產品的非從價關稅(佔所有關稅細目的 1%)可能掩蓋高水平的關稅保護。非從價稅的從價稅一般範圍為 0.2%(丁香捲菸)至 465%(某些製成品煙草)。加上進口關稅和消費稅,飲料、酒類和葡萄酒可能面臨高達 500% 的有效關稅。

世貿組織記錄稱,約 84.3% 的進口關稅細目受到約束,這意味著如果不重新談判貿易協定,這些關稅細目就無法改變。世貿組織最新的馬來西亞關稅概況顯示,農產品的平均約束稅率為53.6%,非農產品的平均約束稅率為14.9%。大約 15% 的進口關稅細目不受約束,由於當局有很大的提高關稅的餘地,因此帶來了一定程度的不可預測性。國際貿易和工業部的關稅特別諮詢委員會負責審查和評估關稅審查申請。

關稅配額適用於20位數級別的27個稅目,主要滿足國內小規模生產者的需求。這些產品包括家禽和豬肉、液態奶和奶油以及圓白菜。配額內稅率為0%(圓白菜)至25%(豬肉),配額外稅率為20%至90%(圓白菜)。名額按照先到先得的原則分配。

儘管是東盟經濟共同體的成員,馬來西亞仍然對源自東盟、缺乏本土成分且非新能源汽車的乘用車徵收75%至105%的消費稅。馬來西亞生產的大部分車輛在國內銷售,而按價值計算,出口主要包括零部件。

製造公司有資格獲得用於生產出口商品的原材料和零部件的關稅減免。這同樣適用於馬來西亞無法提供但直接用於製造過程的機械和設備。為了應對 COVID-19 大流行期間當地需求的增加,政府於 2020 年無限期暫停徵收口罩以及醫療和個人防護設備的進口關稅和銷售稅。截至 2022 年中期,這些徵費仍被免除。

出口

出口稅

馬來西亞的出口關稅主要針對原油、棕櫚油和木材等商品徵收,大多數稅率為從價稅率,範圍在 4.5% 至 30% 之間。具體稅率適用於活植物、某些種子和藤條,而不是從價稅率。這些關稅旨在阻止原材料出口並促進國內加工。通常,馬來西亞沒有多餘的需繳納這些關稅的產品。此外,出於保護目的,野生動物的出口受到限制,而且該國沒有最低出口價格的規定。出口關稅還用於資助研發、促進下游和上游產業的商品活動,並確保國內市場上某些商品的充足供應。

根據2018年11個國家簽署的全面進步跨太平洋夥伴關係協定(CPTPP),馬來西亞承諾不對某些產品徵收出口稅,並避免增加對其他產品的出口稅。該協議於2018年底對部分成員國生效。馬來西亞的目標是最早在 2022 年第三季度批准該協議。

自由商業區(出口加工)

馬來西亞的自由區受 1990 年自由區法和 1991 年自由區條例管轄。這些自由區分為自由商業區 (FCZ),旨在進行貿易活動,例如貿易、散裝、分級、包裝、重新貼標以及指定用於製造活動的過境區和自由工業區 (FIZ)。根據該規定,自由貿易區製造的貨物至少有 80% 應出口,但主管部門可以根據具體情況將該限制降低至 60%。自由區內的公司預計還將生產 40% 本地含量的產品,以獲得進口關稅豁免。然而,如果他們證明所使用的非原產原材料已經發生了實質性轉變,他們仍然可能有資格獲得這些豁免。

除了免除關稅和消費稅外,在自由貿易區和自由貿易區運營的公司還有資格免除直接用於製造過程和服務提供的原材料、零部件和服務的銷售稅和服務稅。自由區對外國和國內企業適用相同的規定,並且對在這些區內經營的企業不給予所得稅優惠待遇。

截至 2022 年中,馬來西亞共有 21 個自由區和 22 個自由區,主要分佈在馬來西亞半島西海岸。巴生港自由區於2006年啟用,是我國第一個完全一體化的自由商業和工業區。2019年預算批准擴大巴生港自由區,將英達島附近380英畝的土地轉變為自由貿易區。該國還允許出口商建立許可的製造倉庫,提供與在自由區內經營類似的好處,同時提供更大的地點靈活性。自 2020 年起實施的《自由區法》修正案引入了新的記錄保存要求,要求將與自由區內進口、出口和製造相關的文件保存七年,並加大了對某些違法行為的處罰力度。

出口限制

自 2017 年起生效的海關(禁止出口)令對馬來西亞施加了一定的出口限制,其中列出了三個附表中的貨物。第一個附表列舉了絕對禁止出口的物品,例如有毒化學品和《蒙特利爾議定書》所涵蓋的物質。第二表和第三表列出了需要出口許可證的物品,包括動物和動物產品、植物和植物產品、大米和麵粉等食品、武器和彈藥、古物、有毒有害廢物、農藥、毛坯鑽石、以及二手家用電器。

根據2011年生效並於2017年最後一次修訂的2010年戰略貿易法,包括核產品和化學產品在內的各種戰略商品的出口和轉運需要許可證。國際貿易和工業部的戰略貿易主管負責為此類商品頒發許可證,這些商品列在附屬立法《2010 年戰略貿易(戰略物項)令》中。

當局偶爾會實施臨時出口禁令,以確保當地供應或出於其他原因。例如,2022年6月,馬來西亞禁止所有活禽、冷凍雞肉和雞肉部件出口,以確保國內供應充足並穩定價格,以應對俄羅斯和烏克蘭戰爭導致雞肉進口量激增的情況。全球化肥和穀物價格。到2022年6月中旬,出口禁令已部分解除。

馬來西亞的橡膠出口商必須是馬來西亞橡膠交易所的會員,該交易所對馬來西亞非土著公司、土著公司和外國公司的實收資本提出了不同的要求。(土著是指馬來人和原住民社區。)馬來西亞在國外市場的出口也受到非關稅壁壘,例如裝運前檢驗、進口禁令、熱帶木材標籤以及某些反傾銷和反補貼稅。

重要的出口文件包括海關出口報關單、商業發票、裝箱單、提單和原產地證書。貨主、出口商、發貨人或馬來西亞皇家海關署授權的代理人可以通過貿易促進者 Dagang Net Technologies 的網站在線進行出口申報。最後,馬來西亞是《華盛頓條約》的簽署國,該條約控制約 1,000 種動植物的國際貿易。

出口信貸和保險

馬來西亞進出口銀行(Exim Bank)由財政部長公司全資擁有,在政府支持的計劃下提供出口保險和信貸方面發揮著重要作用。2005 年,進出口銀行與馬來西亞出口信用保險有限公司合併後,承擔了這一角色。該銀行的產品組合包括多種產品,以傳統形式和符合伊斯蘭教法的形式提供。

進出口銀行的金融服務包括跨境融資、貿易融資和擔保。其信用回教保險設施可防止買家因商業或政治不確定性而無法付款的風險。通過這一機制,進出口銀行可以賠償出口商高達 95% 的損失,使他們能夠自信地開拓新市場。短期回教保險貿易融資可確保海外或國內買家不付款,信用期長達 180 天。中長期版本提供特定回教保險,確保馬來西亞承包商或製造商支付資本貨物和服務的供應費用,或“海外投資回教保險”,為海外項目的投資者提供賠償。

進出口銀行還管理營運資金擔保計劃,根據該計劃,進出口銀行可以為從參與金融機構獲得的融資總額的高達 80% 提供擔保。至少 51% 馬來西亞人擁有的中小型企業 (SME) 可以通過該計劃獲得高達 1000 萬馬幣的貸款,用於營運資金或資本支出。

此外,進出口銀行還提供沙特阿拉伯伊斯蘭開發銀行 (IDB) 提供的融資計劃。該計劃向向美洲開發銀行成員國出口貨物的馬來西亞出口商,或隨後向美洲開發銀行成員國出口貨物的馬來西亞進口商提供至少 100,000 美元或 200,000 美元的融資。

進出口銀行的保險、金融和擔保產品的詳細清單及其說明和申請表可以在進出口銀行的網站上找到。

與此同時,馬來西亞國家銀行(BNM,中央銀行)通過其中小企業基金為微型、小型和中型企業提供融資計劃。在其自動化和數字化設施下,通過自動化流程來提高生產力的中小企業可以藉款高達 300 萬馬幣,並可在長達十年內以每年 4% 的利率償還,包括擔保費。可以通過參與的金融機構提出申請。

最後,馬來西亞對外貿易發展公司(MATRADE)提供市場發展補助金。該計劃為每家公司向中小企業提供高達 20,000 馬幣的財務支持,使他們能夠參加國際貿易展覽會、貿易和投資代表團以及會議。MATRADE 的服務出口基金在 2025 年底之前向馬來西亞服務提供商提供可償還補助金(每家公司 5 萬至 35 萬馬幣)和軟貸款(每位借款人最高 500 萬馬幣)。符合資格的公司必須至少由馬來西亞人持有 60% 的股份。

Table of Contents
參考資料
  • National Trade Blueprint: MaTrade
  • Trade Policy Review: WTO
作者:OOSGA

我們的經濟小組聚焦在各國的人口結構變化、私人消費、零售狀況、地緣經濟、以及相應的國家貨幣與財政政策進行追蹤與分析;FR小組聚焦在各國與國際組織的貿易協定、貿易規範、地緣政治發展、外交關係、進出口、關稅、海關、以及投資發展。

Connect With Authors
*Your message will be sent straight to the team/individual responsible for the article.

Briefing

Import & Export in Malaysia (2023): Trade Policies & Regulation

Last Updated: July 18, 2023
Analysis

Trade Overview of Malaysia in 2023

Malaysia experienced a significant increase in merchandise exports in 2022, with the total value reaching US$352.5 billion, a significant leap from the US$234.8 billion recorded in 2020 and US$299.4 in 2021. In the same vein, merchandise imports also increased to US$294.4 billion in 2022, resulting in a trade surplus of US$58.1 billion. However, a noticeable deficit in the services balance was recorded, standing at US$10.4 billion in 2022, a decrease from the previous year’s US$14.6 billion.

The Department of Statistics highlighted the driving sectors behind Malaysia’s export growth in 2022. Electronic and electrical (E&E) products remained at the top of the list, followed by agricultural commodities, including palm oil, as well as petroleum, chemicals and chemical products, and rubber. As for the primary export markets, China took the lead, followed by Singapore, the United States, the European Union, Hong Kong, Japan, and Thailand. The import market was also dominated by E&E products, followed by chemicals, petroleum products, machinery, equipment, parts, metal manufactures, and agricultural products. The leading source of these imports was China, trailed by Singapore, the EU, Taiwan, the United States, and Japan.

Internationally, Malaysia actively participates in several global and regional economic frameworks. The country is a member of the WTO and takes part in regional economic initiatives such as ASEAN and the 21-member APEC forum. Bilaterally, Malaysia has active free-trade agreements (FTAs) with several countries including Australia, Chile, India, Japan, New Zealand, Pakistan, and Turkey.

Malaysia is also involved in several multilateral trade arrangements. The ASEAN Free Trade Agreement signed in 1992 and Malaysia’s active role in ASEAN’s FTAs with other countries like Australia, New Zealand, China, Hong Kong, India, Japan, and South Korea stand as testaments to this. In January 2022, the country also became a party to the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), which ASEAN had signed with its FTA partners in 2020. This followed the country’s participation in other prominent trade arrangements such as the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership, which was ratified in September 2022.

In the oil sector, Malaysia cooperates with the OPEC member states to help manage the international oil market. This coordination has been critical since early 2021, with OPEC and its allies (known as OPEC+) gradually easing the output cuts that were agreed upon in 2020 as the global demand recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic’s impacts. This bloc has faced increasing pressure to augment production due to soaring global oil prices, a situation exacerbated by the Russia-Ukraine war that started in February 2022. As of the end of June 2022, OPEC+ agreed to undo the 9.7m-barrel/day cut agreed in early 2020. It is anticipated that OPEC+ will continue to boost production in 2022, albeit with limited output increases.

There have been trade challenges as well, especially with the European Union (EU). FTA negotiations between Malaysia and the EU, which began in 2010, were suspended in 2012 at Malaysia’s request. This situation was worsened after the European Parliament voted in favor of banning the use of palm oil in biofuel production by 2030 due to deforestation concerns in Malaysia and Indonesia, the world’s top palm oil producers. The WTO’s dispute-resolution mechanism agreed in May 2021 to hear Malaysia’s complaint against the EU. Considering that such trade disputes can linger for years, it’s likely that this issue will further delay the resumption of FTA negotiations between Malaysia and the EU.

In response to these trade dynamics, the Malaysian government in October 2021 unveiled a National Trade Blueprint designed to boost the country’s goods exports from 2021 to 2025. A key goal of this plan is to reinstate Malaysia among the world’s top 20 exporters and to compete more closely with regional rivals such as Thailand and Vietnam. The strategies outlined in the blueprint are not radically transformative, but they underscore key objectives. These include increasing exports of small and medium-sized enterprises and multinationals, enhancing exporter access to trade finance, advocating for digitalization and e-commerce, and promoting the “Malaysia brand” to extend awareness beyond just tourism and food.

Import Taxes & Tariff

Malaysia applies the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System for the classification of goods. However, trade transactions between Malaysia and the other nine members of the free-trade area under the ASEAN are governed by the ASEAN Harmonized Tariff Nomenclature. Almost all the rates (99% under the Harmonized System) are ad valorem taxes, which are based on the monetary value of the item taxed. The remaining duties are specific, mixed or alternative. The WTO states that the average most favored nation (MFN) rate, applied to other WTO members, was 5.7% in 2020. For agricultural products, 74.7% of the applied MFN rates were duty-free in 2020, and the figure was 65.2% for non-agricultural products.

The highest average MFN tariffs apply to beverages and tobacco (93.3%), transport equipment (12%), and leather footwear (10.3%). The WTO’s Trade Policy Review of Malaysia, last updated in March 2023, suggests that non-ad valorem duties, predominantly applied to agricultural products (1% of all tariff lines), could mask a high level of tariff protection. The ad valorem equivalent of non-ad valorem duties generally ranges from 0.2% (clove cigarettes) to 465% (certain manufactured tobacco). When combined with import duties and excise taxes, beverages, alcohol, and wine can face an effective tariff of up to 500%.

The WTO records that around 84.3% of import tariff lines were bound, meaning they can’t be altered without renegotiating the trade agreement. The WTO’s most recent tariff profile of Malaysia shows an average bound rate of 53.6% for agricultural products and 14.9% for non-agricultural products. Roughly 15% of import tariff lines are unbound, introducing a level of unpredictability as authorities have a significant leeway to raise tariffs. The Ministry of International Trade and Industry’s Special Advisory Committee on Tariffs reviews and assesses applications for tariff review.

Tariff quotas are applicable to 27 tariff lines at the 20-digit level, mainly to accommodate the needs of domestic small-scale producers. These products include poultry and pork meat, liquid milk and cream, and round cabbage. Rates within the quota range from 0% (round cabbages) to 25% (pork), while rates outside the quota vary between 20-90% (round cabbages). Quotas are allocated on a first-come, first-served basis.

Despite being a member of the ASEAN Economic Community, Malaysia still levies excise duties ranging from 75-105% on ASEAN-sourced passenger cars that lack local content and aren’t new-energy vehicles. The majority of vehicles produced in Malaysia are sold domestically, while exports primarily comprise parts and accessories, in value terms.

Manufacturing companies are eligible for duty drawbacks and exemptions for raw materials and components used in the production of goods for export. The same applies for machinery and equipment unavailable in Malaysia but directly employed in the manufacturing process. In response to the increased local demand during the COVID-19 pandemic, the government in 2020 indefinitely suspended import duties and sales tax on face masks and medical and personal protective equipment. As of mid-2022, these levies remained waived.

Export

Export Taxes

Export duties in Malaysia are primarily levied on commodities such as crude oil, palm oil, and wood, with most rates being ad valorem and ranging between 4.5% and 30%. Specific rates are applied to live plants, certain seeds, and rattans, instead of ad valorem rates. These duties serve to dissuade the export of raw materials and to promote domestic processing. Typically, Malaysia does not have a surplus of the products subjected to these duties. Additionally, the export of wildlife is curtailed for the purpose of conservation, and the country does not have regulations concerning minimum export prices. Export duties are also used to fund research and development, promote activities for commodities in downstream and upstream industries, and ensure a sufficient supply of certain goods in the domestic market.

Under the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), signed by 11 countries in 2018, Malaysia made commitments to refrain from imposing export taxes on certain products and to avoid increasing export taxes on others. The agreement took effect at the end of 2018 for some member countries. Malaysia is aiming to ratify this agreement by the third quarter of 2022 at the earliest.

Free Commercial Zone (Export Processing)

Malaysia’s free zones are governed by the Free Zones Act of 1990 and the Free Zones Regulations of 1991. These zones are categorized into free commercial zones (FCZs), intended for trading activities such as trading, breaking bulk, grading, packing, re-labelling and transit, and free industrial zones (FIZs), which are designated for manufacturing activities. Under this regulation, a minimum of 80% of the goods manufactured in FIZs should be exported, though authorities may reduce this limit to 60% on a case-by-case basis. Companies in FIZs are also expected to produce products with 40% local content to benefit from import duty exemptions. However, they may still qualify for these exemptions if they demonstrate that the non-originating raw materials used had undergone substantive transformation.

In addition to customs and excise duty exemptions, companies operating in both FCZs and FIZs are eligible for exemptions from sales tax and service tax on raw materials, components, and services directly used in the manufacturing processes and service provision. Free zones apply the same regulations to foreign and domestic enterprises, and no preferential income tax treatment is given to enterprises operating in these zones.

As of mid-2022, there were 21 FCZs and 22 FIZs in Malaysia, primarily along the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia. The Port Klang Free Zone, opened in 2006, was the country’s first fully integrated free commercial and industrial zone. The 2019 budget approved an expansion of the Port Klang free zone, converting 380 acres of nearby land in Pulau Indah into a free-trade zone. The country also permits exporters to establish a licensed manufacturing warehouse, offering similar benefits to operating within a free zone while providing more location flexibility. Amendments to the Free Zones Act, implemented from 2020, introduced new record-keeping requirements, necessitating the preservation of documents related to imports, exports, and manufacturing within free zones for seven years, and increased penalties for certain offences.

Export Restrictions

The Customs (Prohibition of Exports) Order, effective from 2017, places certain export restrictions in Malaysia, with goods listed across three schedules. The first schedule enumerates items that are absolutely prohibited for export, such as poisonous chemicals and substances covered under the Montreal Protocol. The second and third schedules list items that require an export license for exportation, including animals and animal products, plants and plant products, food products such as rice and flour, arms and ammunition, antiquities, toxic and hazardous wastes, pesticides, rough diamonds, and used household appliances.

Under the Strategic Trade Act of 2010, which came into force in 2011 and was last amended in 2017, licenses are required for the export and transshipment of various strategic commodities, including nuclear and chemical products. The Strategic Trade Controller of the Ministry of International Trade and Industry is responsible for issuing licenses for such goods, which are listed in the subsidiary legislation Strategic Trade (Strategic Items) Order 2010.

Temporary export bans are occasionally implemented by the authorities to ensure local supplies or for other reasons. For instance, in June 2022, Malaysia placed a ban on the export of all live poultry, frozen chicken meat, and chicken parts to ensure sufficient domestic supply and stabilize prices in the face of the Russia-Ukraine war, which caused a surge in the prices of fertilizers and grains globally. By mid-June 2022, the export ban had been partially lifted.

Rubber exporters in Malaysia must be members of the Malaysian Rubber Exchange, which imposes different requirements for paid-up capital among non-bumiputera Malaysian companies, bumiputera companies, and foreign companies. (Bumiputera refers to ethnic Malay and indigenous communities.) Non-tariff barriers are also imposed on Malaysian exports in foreign markets, such as pre-shipment inspection, import bans, tropical-timber labelling, and certain anti-dumping and countervailing duties.

Essential export documents include a customs export declaration, commercial invoice, packing list, bill of lading, and certificate of origin. Export declarations can be made online via the website of trade facilitator Dagang Net Technologies by the owner, exporter, consignor, or an agent authorized by the Royal Malaysian Customs Department. Lastly, Malaysia is a signatory to the Washington Treaty, which controls international trade in approximately 1,000 species of animals and plants.

Export Credits & Insurance

The Export-Import Bank of Malaysia (Exim Bank), wholly owned by the Minister of Finance Inc, plays a significant role in providing export insurance and credit under government-backed programmes. This role was assumed by Exim Bank after its merger with Malaysia Export Credit Insurance Berhad in 2005. The Bank’s portfolio includes a wide array of products, offered in both conventional and sharia-compliant formats.

Among Exim Bank’s financial offerings are cross-border financing, trade finance, and guarantees. Its credit takaful facility provides protection against non-payment risk by buyers due to commercial or political uncertainties. Through this facility, Exim Bank can indemnify exporters for up to 95% of loss, enabling them to confidently explore new markets. The short-term takaful trade facility insures against non-payment by overseas or domestic buyers for credit terms of up to 180 days. Medium and long-term versions offer either specific takaful, ensuring payment for supply of capital goods and services by Malaysian contractors or manufacturers, or “overseas investment takaful”, which provides indemnity for investors in overseas projects.

Exim Bank also administers the Working Capital Guarantee Scheme, under which the Bank can guarantee up to 80% of total financing obtained from participating financial institutions. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) that are at least 51% Malaysian-owned can access up to M$10m in loans for working capital or capital expenditure through this scheme.

Additionally, Exim Bank provides access to the financing program offered by the Saudi Arabia-based Islamic Development Bank (IDB). This program grants a minimum of either US$100,000 or US$200,000 in financing to Malaysian exporters who export goods to IDB member countries, or importers of Malaysian goods that are subsequently exported to the Bank’s members.

Exim Bank’s extensive list of insurance, finance, and guarantee products, along with their descriptions and application forms, can be found on the Exim Bank’s website.

Meanwhile, Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM, the central bank) offers financing programs for micro, small, and medium-sized enterprises under its Fund for SMEs. Under its automation and digitalisation facility, SMEs that automate their processes to improve productivity can borrow up to M$3m, repayable over as long as ten years at an interest rate of 4% per year, inclusive of the guarantee fee. Applications can be made through participating financial institutions.

Lastly, the Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE) offers a Market Development Grant facility. This scheme provides financial support of up to M$20,000 per company to SMEs, enabling them to participate in international trade fairs, trade and investment missions, and conferences. MATRADE’s Service Export Fund provides reimbursable grants (from M$50,000 to M$350,000 per company) and soft loans (up to M$5m per borrower) to Malaysian service providers up to end-2025. Eligible firms must be at least 60% Malaysian-owned.

Table of Contents

Referece Materials

  • Analysis: OOSGA Analytics
  • Policy: Local Government
  • National Trade Blueprint: MaTrade
  • Trade Policy Review: WTO
Author: FR Team, ECON Team

Our economic team focuses on analyzing changes in population structure, private consumption, retail conditions, geo-economics, and corresponding national monetary and fiscal policies across various countries. The Foreign Relations (FR) team concentrates on trade agreements, trade regulations, geopolitical developments, diplomatic relations, imports/exports, tariffs, customs, and investment developments of various nations and international organizations.

Connect with CR Team