Briefings

投資泰國:產業與地緣的激勵政策有哪些?有哪些園區與特區?

最後更新於: October 21, 2023

OOSGA團隊針對泰國當前的主導激勵政策項目進行追蹤,提供其在產業以及地緣層面上的補助領域。

Analysis

泰國激勵政策包含哪些?

泰國以其投資友善環境而聞名,通過 1977 年投資促進法( Investment Promotion Act)、2017 年國家目標產業競爭力增強法(National Competitive Enhancement Act for Targeted Industries Act)和 2018 年東部經濟走廊法(EEC, Eastern Economic Corridor Act)等立法提供廣泛的激勵措施。在泰國,這些措施由投資委員會(BOI)負責,該委員會在整體投資環境中極具影響力,擁有促進泰國經濟發展的廣泛職責。 BOI 2023-28 年五年投資促進戰略的重點是利用這些激勵措施鼓勵經濟轉型、有效利用先進技術、提高競爭力和適應性以及促進包容性,其中包括環境和社會可持續性。

BOI 將其投資促進戰略建立在七個支柱上,每個支柱都突出了泰國經濟的不同方面。 這些措施包括升級現有產業、加速向綠色和智能產業轉型、加強中小企業和初創企業以及推動泰國成為國際貿易和投資中心。 此外,它還重點促進對泰國各地區的投資,支持社區和社會發展,鼓勵泰國企業向海外擴張。

BOI 根據《投資促進法》提供兩種激勵措施:基於活動的激勵措施和基於績效的激勵措施。 基於活動的激勵措施包括長達 13 年的企業所得稅豁免以及其他非稅收優惠,例如外籍人員的工作許可證以及機械和原材料的進口關稅豁免。 這些激勵措施的水平取決於多種因素,包括所使用的技術、以前在該國的投資以及附加值。

績效激勵措施包括對與研發(R&D)、培訓、供應鏈開發、產品和包裝設計相關的合格費用進行減稅,以及向技術機構或人力資源開發基金捐款。 為了有資格獲得這些激勵措施,公司必須在研發方面進行大量投資。 BOI 在 2021 年加強了這些激勵措施,允許公司將其總銷售額的 1% 至少投資於研發,或者在運營的前三年至少投資 2 億泰銖,才有資格獲得額外所得稅豁免。

2020 年,BOI 擴大了有資格根據《投資促進法》享受基於活動的激勵措施的企業範圍。 這些現在包括電動汽車生產、老年醫院、老年人護理中心、國際採購辦公室和臨床研究。 BOI 還增加了符合績效激勵的新活動,例如節能投資或減少環境影響的項目、機械升級以及滿足國際標準的投資。

根據《投資促進法》,為東部經濟走廊、十個省份的經濟特區、五個穆斯林占多數的南部省份、20個最低收入省份、工業區和工業區等特區的項目提供區域獎勵。 和科技園區。 每個項目都必須滿足一定的標準,例如最低資本投資要求、附加值門檻以及現代生產工藝和新機械的使用。

《國家目標產業競爭力增強法案》允許 BOI 向投資於生物科技、先進製造、創意和數位經濟等產業的公司給予長達 15 年的企業所得稅豁免。 這些公司還有資格獲得其他非稅收激勵措施,並可以申請國家競爭力增強基金的補貼,以支持研發和創新活動。

《東部經濟走廊法》根據產業地點和類型提供進一步的稅收優惠。 其中包括次世代汽車、智能電子、旅遊業、先進農業、生物科技、未來食品、自動化和機器人、航空和物流、醫療中心和整體健康醫療服務、生物燃料和生化、數位經濟、國防製造和人力資源開發 。

BOI還在2019年推出了「泰國+」一攬子計劃,旨在吸引企業將生產從中國轉移到泰國,以應對中美貿易爭端。 該計劃為自動化設備投資、高技術人員的工資和培訓提供額外的稅收減免。 這些激勵措施與泰國 4.0 戰略相一致,該戰略旨在將泰國轉變為先進的製造和技術中心。

儘管這些激勵措施很有吸引力,但泰國仍面臨來自馬來西亞、新加坡和韓國等區域競爭對手的競爭,這些競爭對手也提供了有吸引力的激勵措施。 認識到這一點,BOI 於 2022 年 11 月宣布了一套新的激勵措施,為已經活躍在泰國的長期投資者提供額外的企業稅豁免。 這一新的一攬子計劃與現有的激勵措施相結合,展示了泰國致力於使自己成為對國內外投資具有吸引力的目的地的持續承諾。

產業激勵政策

泰國投資委員會(BOI)為200多個行業提供一系列投資激勵措施,包括農業和農產品、涉及技術和人力資源開發的項目、基礎設施、公共事業、基礎服務、環境保護和保存、高純度製造業 或精密混合氣體、能源相關活動、印刷工業、硬碟驅動器製造和藥品製造。

這些活動的一般激勵措施通常包括免除機械進口稅和企業所得稅,無論地點如何。 其他特權可能適用,具體取決於區域。 通常,每項優先活動都需要最低水平的資本投資。

2020 年新增有資格獲得基於活動(Activity-based)的激勵措施的企業包括所有類型電動汽車的生產、老年醫院、老年人護理中心、國際採購辦公室和臨床研究。

由於疫情期間電子產品需求增加,泰國於 2021 年 6 月宣布加強對半導體及相關產業生產的投資激勵。對晶圓製造的投資可享受長達十年的所得稅豁免。 對製造先進集成電路 (IC)、IC 基板和印刷電路板的機械投資至少 15 億泰銖,可享受最長八年的所得稅免稅期。

中小企業(SME)可享受折扣優惠。 自2017課稅年度起,中小企業淨利潤最高可享受30萬泰銖的企業稅豁免。 他們對 30 萬至 300 萬泰銖的淨利潤支付 15%,而標準 20% 的稅率適用於收入超過 300 萬泰銖的情況。 要獲得資格,中小企業的實收資本必須不超過 500 萬泰銖,年收入不超過 3000 萬泰銖,並在 2016 年推出的稅收特赦計劃下註冊。中小企業初創企業可能有資格享受五年所得稅豁免。

根據 1977 年《投資促進法》和 2017 年《目標產業競爭增強法》,某些行業可享受慷慨的稅收減免,包括生物技術、納米技術、工程設計、先進技術在製造中的應用以及其他創新投資。

東部經濟走廊 (EEC) 法案於 2018 年生效,為 EEC 內 12 個目標行業的投資者提供所得稅免稅期和減稅以及非稅收優惠。 這些行業包括下一代汽車、智能電子、旅遊業、先進農業和生物技術、“未來食品”、自動化和機器人、航空和物流、醫療中心和整體醫療保健服務、生物燃料和生化、數位經濟、國防製造、 和人力資源開發。

2020年,BOI宣布醫藥級酒精生產商可以申請長達八年的所得稅豁免。 用於醫用口罩和其他醫療器械的無紡布製造現在可享受長達五年的所得稅免稅期,而此前為三年。已經享受所得稅減免期的公司如果為公共機構的疫苗/藥物研究提供財政捐助,也可以申請額外的稅收優惠。 如果此類財務貢獻至少佔其運營前三年總銷售額的 1%,或至少 2 億泰銖,則他們有資格獲得額外一到三年的所得稅豁免。

為了促進電動汽車 (EV) 的採用和基礎建設的發展,泰國向營運電動汽車充電站的公司延長了五年企業所得稅免稅等優惠。 2021年9月,泰國將激勵措施擴大到包括電動自行車在內的所有類型電動汽車的生產,以及儲能係統和充電模塊等電池電動汽車平台的開發。 為了促進國內電動汽車製造,泰國製定了從2022年開始的十年計劃,預計到2030年電動汽車將佔汽車市場的50%。

根據BOI的草根經濟投資促進措施(Investment Promotion Measure for the Grassroots Economy),支持涉及農業生產、輕工業和社區旅遊的合作社和社區企業的項目有資格獲得最長三年的所得稅免稅。

泰國還制定了注重環境保護的激勵措施。 2020 年法令規定,根據泰國自願減排計劃銷售碳信用額所獲得的淨利潤可免徵企業所得稅。 免稅適用於連續三個會計期間。 另一項法令允許企業對生物可降解塑料產品支付的金額進行總計 125% 的稅收減免,追溯適用於 2019 年開始至 2024 年底支付的金額。 旨在減少溫室氣體排放的機械升級以及對使用天然製冷劑的冷庫設施和冷庫運輸業務有資格享受三年所得稅豁免。

地緣激勵措施

東部經濟走廊(EEC)橫跨北柳府、春武里府和羅勇府,是泰國在東協內的主要投資和基礎建設中心。 EEC 成立於 2018 年,範圍超出東海岸工業區,為在該區內設立總部和設施的公司提供慷慨的激勵措施。

主要優點包括:

  1. 長達13年的企業所得稅豁免。
  2. 經理、專家和投資者的個人所得稅最高稅率為 17%,並可獲得五年期商務簽證。
  3. 如果投資符合 12 個目標產業之一,則有機會租賃土地長達 50 年(可再續簽 49 年)。
  4. 使用外幣進行交易的能力。
  5. 快速批准環境影響評估和公私伙伴關係。

外國投資者在EEC內享有獨特的特權,例如用於商業運營的土地所有權、購買用於住宅目的的公寓以及根據所謂的智能簽證僱用沒有工作許可證的高技能外國工人。 還有促進進出口的規定,以及豁免《海關法》、《工廠法》和《建築控制法》的某些要求。

2022年,投資委員會(BOI)宣布了旨在促進投資和升級經濟的一攬子激勵措施,包括免稅和設立新推廣的產業類別和區域投資特區。 這些經濟走廊橫跨四個地區和16個省份:北部經濟走廊、東北經濟走廊、中西部經濟走廊和南部經濟走廊。

在食品創新領域,BOI指定了13個地點為「食品創新城」地點,通常位於大學周圍。 在這些領域對創新食品和服務的投資可能有資格享受五到十年的企業所得稅豁免,隨後五年減稅 50% 或將免稅期延長兩年。

而位於20個低收入省份的項目還可能會獲得額外優惠,包括三年免徵企業所得稅以及十年內交通、電力和水費雙重扣除。

根據超級集群計劃(Superclusters Scheme),九個省的六個目標產業可以申請最長八年的所得稅免稅期,並在此後五年內免徵 50% 的企業稅。 這些行業包括汽車裝配和零部件、環保石化、數字工業、加工食品、醫療和生物醫學產品以及電子、電器和電信設備。

泰國最南端的五個穆斯林占多數的省份:那拉提瓦府、北大年府、沙敦府、宋卡府和也拉府,在 2023 年底之前製定了具體激勵措施,以促進該地區的投資。BOI在南部四區推出“模範城市項目”招商引資,優惠包括所得稅減免、物流費用雙倍扣除、進口關稅減免等。儘管有這些激勵措施,安全問題仍然阻礙了南部地區某些地區的投資,只有合艾周邊地區的投資活動相對增加。

工業園區與經濟特區

泰國工業區管理局管理著 12 個專門為出口導向型產業設計的特別行政區,另外 53 個由私營部門運營。 這些區內符合條件的企業可以進口原材料並出口製成品,無需繳納包括增值稅在內的關稅。 這些自由區配備了簡化加工的海關設施,位於春武里府、南奔府、比集府、宋卡府、北欖府、曼谷(拉卡邦)、大城府和北柳府的工業園區內。 此外,區外工廠如果專門使用進口原材料進行出口生產,可以申請在廠區內設立免稅保稅倉庫。

除了這些自由區外,泰國還有十個經濟特區(SEZ)。 其中一半戰略性地位於邊境地區,包括達省的湄索縣(緬甸邊境); 沙繳府的 Aranyaprathet 縣和達叻府的 Khlong Yai 縣(柬埔寨邊境); 莫達漢省 Mueang 區(老撾邊境); 和宋卡府的沙道縣(馬來西亞邊境)。 其餘五個位於清萊府、北碧府、那空帕農府、那拉提瓦府和廊開府。 經濟特區提供各種激勵措施,例如十年內將企業所得稅稅率降低至 10%、免除機械和某些原材料的進口關稅、十年內公用事業和運輸成本雙重扣除,以及允許僱用外國非技術工人。

2021 年 11 月發布的幾項皇家法令延長了各種激勵措施。 例如,第 727 號皇家法令大幅削減了在經濟特區運營的公司或法人合夥企業的企業所得稅稅率。 製造或銷售商品所獲得的收入,以及在區內提供服務所產生的收入,將按淨利潤的 3% 徵稅,這比 20% 的標準企業稅率大幅降低。 此外,該法令還將經濟特區內不動產銷售收入的源泉預扣個人所得稅稅率降低至總收入的 0.1%。

最後,為了簡化運營並促進業務發展,這些經濟特區提供一站式服務中心。 其中包括海關檢查站以及增強的許可和許可申請服務,確保為在這些區域內運營的公司提供有利且高效的商業環境。

Table of Contents
參考資料
作者:OOSGA

我們的經濟小組聚焦在各國的人口結構變化、私人消費、零售狀況、地緣經濟、以及相應的國家貨幣與財政政策進行追蹤與分析;FR小組聚焦在各國與國際組織的貿易協定、貿易規範、地緣政治發展、外交關係、進出口、關稅、海關、以及投資發展。

Connect With Authors
*Your message will be sent straight to the team/individual responsible for the article.

Briefings

Investing in Thailand – 2023: Industrial Incentives & Zones

Last Updated: October 31, 2023
Analysis

Thailand’s Investment Incentives: Opportunities in 2023

The country is known for its investment-friendly environment, through the 1977 Investment Promotion Act ( Investment Promotion Act ), the 2017 National Competitive Enhancement Act for Targeted Industries Act and the 2018 Eastern Economic Corridor Act ( EEC, Legislation such as the Eastern Economic Corridor Act provides a wide range of incentives. In Thailand, these measures are the responsibility of the Board of Investments (BOI), which is highly influential in the overall investment environment and has a broad mandate to promote Thailand’s economic development. The BOI’s five-year investment promotion strategy for 2023-28 focuses on using these incentives to encourage economic transformation, efficient use of advanced technologies, increase competitiveness and adaptability, and promote inclusion, which includes environmental and social sustainability.

The BOI bases its investment promotion strategy on seven pillars, each highlighting a different aspect of the Thai economy. These measures include upgrading existing industries, accelerating transformation to green and smart industries, strengthening small and medium-sized enterprises and start-ups, and promoting Thailand as an international trade and investment hub. In addition, it focuses on promoting investment in various regions of Thailand, supporting community and social development, and encouraging Thai companies to expand overseas.

The BOI offers two types of incentives under the Investment Promotion Act: Activity-Based Incentives and Performance-Based Incentives. The activity-based incentives include corporate income tax exemption for up to 13 years and other non-tax benefits such as work permits for expatriates and import duty exemptions for machinery and raw materials. The level of these incentives depends on a variety of factors, including the technology used, previous investments in the country, and value added.

Performance incentives include tax deductions for qualifying expenses related to research and development (R&D), training, supply chain development, product and packaging design, and contributions to technical institutions or human resource development funds. To qualify for these incentives, companies must invest heavily in research and development. The BOI has strengthened these incentives in 2021, allowing companies to invest at least 1% of their total sales in research and development, or invest at least 200 million baht in the first three years of operation, to be eligible for additional income tax exemption.

In 2020, the BOI expanded the scope of businesses eligible for activity-based incentives under the Investment Promotion Act. These now include electric vehicle production, geriatric hospitals, elderly care centers, international procurement offices and clinical research. The BOI has also added new activities that qualify as performance incentives, such as energy efficiency investments or projects that reduce environmental impact, machinery upgrades, and investments that meet international standards.

Under the Investment Promotion Law, regional incentives are provided for projects in the Eastern Economic Corridor, special economic zones in ten provinces, five Muslim-majority southern provinces, 20 lowest-income provinces, industrial zones and special zones such as industrial zones. and technology parks. Each project must meet certain criteria, such as minimum capital investment requirements, value-added thresholds, and the use of modern production processes and new machinery.

The National Targeted Industries Competitiveness Enhancement Act allows BOI to grant up to 15 years of corporate income tax exemption to companies investing in industries such as biotechnology, advanced manufacturing, creative and digital economy. These companies are also eligible for other non-tax incentives and can apply for subsidies from the National Competitiveness Enhancement Fund to support R&D and innovation activities.

The Eastern Economic Corridor Law provides further tax incentives based on the location and type of industry. These include next-generation cars, smart electronics, tourism, advanced agriculture, biotechnology, future food, automation and robotics, aviation and logistics, medical centers and holistic health care services, biofuels and biochemistry, digital economy, defense manufacturing and human resources develop.

BOI also launched the “Thailand+” package in 2019, aimed at attracting companies to shift production from China to Thailand in response to the Sino-US trade dispute. The program provides additional tax breaks for investment in automation equipment, wages and training for highly skilled workers. These incentives are in line with the Thailand 4.0 strategy, which aims to transform Thailand into an advanced manufacturing and technology hub.

Despite the attractiveness of these incentives, Thailand still faces competition from regional rivals such as Malaysia, Singapore and South Korea, which also offer attractive incentives. Recognizing this, the BOI announced in November 2022 a new set of incentives to provide additional corporate tax exemptions for long-term investors already active in Thailand. This new package, combined with existing incentives, demonstrates Thailand’s continued commitment to establishing itself as an attractive destination for domestic and foreign investment.

Industrial Incentives

The Thailand Board of Investment (BOI) provides a range of investment incentives for more than 200 industries, including agriculture and agricultural products, projects involving technology and human resource development, infrastructure, public utilities, basic services, environmental protection and preservation, high-purity manufacturing or precision mixed gases, energy related activities, printing industry, hard disk drive manufacturing and pharmaceutical manufacturing.

General incentives for these activities usually include exemption from machinery import duties and corporate income tax, regardless of location. Additional privileges may apply, depending on the region. Typically, each priority activity requires a minimum level of capital investment.

New businesses eligible for activity-based incentives in 2020 include the production of all types of electric vehicles, geriatric hospitals, aged care centers, international procurement offices and clinical research.

Due to the increase in demand for electronic products during the epidemic, Thailand announced in June 2021 to strengthen investment incentives for the production of semiconductors and related industries. Investments in wafer fabrication are eligible for up to ten years of income tax exemption. Investments in machinery for the manufacture of advanced integrated circuits (ICs), IC substrates and printed circuit boards of at least 1.5 billion baht are eligible for income tax holidays of up to eight years.

Discounts are available for small and medium enterprises (SMEs). From the year of assessment 2017, SMEs can enjoy a corporate tax exemption of up to 300,000 baht on their net profits. They pay 15% on net profits between 300,000 and 3 million baht, while the standard 20% tax rate applies to income above 3 million baht. To qualify, SMEs must have paid-up capital of no more than 5 million baht, annual revenue of no more than 30 million baht, and be registered under the tax amnesty scheme introduced in 2016. SME start-ups may qualify for a five-year income tax exemption.

Generous tax breaks are available for certain industries under the Investment Promotion Act 1977 and the Targeted Industries Competition Enhancement Act 2017, including biotechnology, nanotechnology, engineering design, application of advanced technologies in manufacturing, and other innovative investments .

The Eastern Economic Corridor (EEC) Act, which came into effect in 2018, provides income tax holidays and tax breaks as well as non-tax benefits to investors in 12 targeted industries within the EEC. These industries include next-generation automobiles, smart electronics, tourism, advanced agriculture and biotechnology, “future food”, automation and robotics, aviation and logistics, medical centers and overall healthcare services, biofuels and biochemicals, digital economy, defense manufacturing , and human resource development.

In 2020, the BOI announced that producers of pharmaceutical-grade alcohol can apply for income tax exemption for up to eight years. The manufacture of non-woven fabrics used in surgical masks and other medical devices is now eligible for an income tax holiday of up to five years, up from three years previously. Companies already enjoying the income tax holiday can also apply for additional tax benefits if they make financial contributions to vaccine/drug research by public institutions. They are eligible for an additional one to three years of income tax exemption if such financial contributions represent at least 1% of their total sales for the first three years of operation, or at least 200 million baht.

In an effort to boost electric vehicle (EV) adoption and infrastructure development, Thailand has extended incentives, including a five-year corporate income tax exemption, for companies operating EV charging stations. In September 2021, Thailand extended incentives to the production of all types of electric vehicles, including e-bikes, and the development of battery electric vehicle platforms such as energy storage systems and charging modules. To boost domestic electric vehicle manufacturing, Thailand has drawn up a ten-year plan starting in 2022, which expects electric vehicles to account for 50 percent of the auto market by 2030.

Under the BOI’s Investment Promotion Measure for the Grassroots Economy, projects supporting cooperatives and community enterprises involved in agricultural production, light industry and community tourism are eligible for income tax exemptions of up to three years.

Thailand has also created incentives to focus on environmental protection. The 2020 Act exempts net profits from the sale of carbon credits under Thailand’s voluntary emission reduction scheme from corporate income tax. The tax exemption applies to three consecutive accounting periods. Another decree allows businesses to take a tax deduction totaling 125% on amounts paid for biodegradable plastic products, applying retroactively to amounts paid starting in 2019 and ending in 2024. Mechanical upgrades aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions, as well as cold storage facilities and cold storage transportation operations using natural refrigerants qualify for a three-year income tax exemption.

Regional Incentives

The Eastern Economic Corridor (EEC) spans Chachoengsao, Chonburi and Rayong, and is Thailand’s main investment and infrastructure center within ASEAN. Established in 2018, the EEC extends beyond the east coast industrial zone to offer generous incentives to companies setting up headquarters and facilities within the zone.

Key benefits include:

  1. Up to 13 years of corporate income tax exemption.
  2. Managers, experts and investors are subject to a maximum personal income tax rate of 17% and are eligible for a five-year business visa.
  3. Opportunity to lease land for up to 50 years (renewable for a further 49 years) if the investment fits one of the 12 targeted industries.
  4. The ability to conduct transactions in foreign currencies.
  5. Fast-track approval of environmental impact assessments and public-private partnerships.

Foreign investors enjoy unique privileges within the EEC, such as ownership of land for business operations, buying apartments for residential purposes and hiring highly skilled foreign workers without work permits under so-called smart visas. There are also provisions to facilitate import and export, as well as exemptions from certain requirements of the Customs Act, Factories Act and Construction Control Act.

In 2022, the Board of Investments (BOI) announced a package of incentives aimed at promoting investment and upgrading the economy, including tax exemptions and the establishment of newly promoted industry categories and regional investment zones. These economic corridors span four regions and 16 provinces: the Northern Economic Corridor, the Northeast Economic Corridor, the Central and Western Economic Corridor, and the Southern Economic Corridor.

In the area of ​​food innovation, the BOI has designated 13 sites as “Food Innovation City” sites, usually located around universities. Investments in innovative food and services in these sectors may qualify for a corporate income tax exemption for five to ten years, followed by a 50% tax cut for the subsequent five years or a two-year extension of the tax exemption.

Projects located in 20 low-income provinces may also receive additional incentives, including exemption from corporate income tax for three years and double deduction for transportation, electricity and water expenses for ten years.

Under the Superclusters Scheme, six targeted industries in nine provinces can apply for an income tax holiday of up to eight years and a 50% corporate tax exemption for five years thereafter. These industries include automotive assembly and components, environmental petrochemicals, digital industries, processed food, medical and biomedical products, and electronics, appliances, and telecommunications equipment.

Thailand’s five southernmost Muslim-majority provinces: Narathiwat, Pattani, Satun, Songkhla and Yala, have specific incentives in place by the end of 2023 to boost investment in the region . BOI launched the “Model City Project” in the four southern districts to attract investment. The benefits include income tax reduction and exemption, double deduction of logistics costs, and import tariff reduction and exemption. Despite these incentives, security concerns have hindered investment in some parts of the southern region, with only areas around Hat Yai seeing a relative increase in investment activity.

Industrial parks and special economic zones

The Industrial Zones Authority of Thailand manages 12 special administrative zones specifically designed for export-oriented industries, while another 53 are run by the private sector. Eligible businesses in these zones can import raw materials and export finished products without paying customs duties including VAT. These free zones are equipped with customs facilities to simplify processing and are located in industrial parks in Chonburi, Lamphun, Bichit, Songkhla, Samut Prakan, Bangkok (Lak Krabang), Ayutthaya and Chachoengsao . In addition, if a factory outside the zone exclusively uses imported raw materials for export production, it may apply to set up a duty-free bonded warehouse in the factory zone.

In addition to these free zones, Thailand also has ten Special Economic Zones (SEZs). Half of them are strategically located in border areas, including Mae Sot district in Tak province (Myanmar border); Aranyaprathet district in Sa Kaeo province and Khlong Yai district in Trat province (Cambodian border); Mueang district in Moktahan province (Laos border) ; and Sadao district in Songkhla province (on the Malaysian border). The remaining five are located in Chiang Rai, Kanchanaburi, Nakhon Phanom, Narathiwat and Nong Khai. SEZs offer various incentives, such as reducing the corporate income tax rate to 10 percent for ten years, exemption from import duties on machinery and certain raw materials, double deduction for utility and transportation costs for ten years, and allowing the hiring of foreign unskilled workers.

Various incentives have been extended by several royal decrees issued in November 2021. For example, Royal Decree No. 727 slashes the corporate income tax rates for companies or partnerships of legal persons operating in special economic zones. Income from the manufacture or sale of goods, as well as income from services provided in the zone, will be taxed at 3% of net profits, a significant reduction from the standard corporate tax rate of 20%. In addition, the decree also reduces the at-source withholding personal income tax rate on real estate sales income in special economic zones to 0.1% of gross income.

Finally, to simplify operations and facilitate business development, these SEZs provide one-stop service centers. These include customs checkpoints and enhanced licensing and permit application services, ensuring a conducive and efficient business environment for companies operating in these zones. 

Table of Contents
Reference
Connect With Authors
*Your message will be sent straight to the team/individual responsible for the article.